Sola festival
22.11. & 24.11.2019

SOLA festival 2019

Once again the annual festival for experimental music and moving image SOLA takes over the screen and speakers of WHS Theater Union!

SOLA celebrates its fifth year by bringing out cavalcade of exciting sound performers and a great selection of experimental audio-visual works from 21st century.

We’ll see a set of science-oriented short films of Semiconductor (Ruth Jarman & Joe Gerhardt) from UK; biogeographical sci-fi-esque “Slow Action” from the renowned US based experimental filmmaker Ben Rivers; a 16mm film live cinema action from Marek Pluciennik and finally digital audio-visual extravaganza from the one and only Pink Twins!

After Semiconductor’s short films, Friday evening’s music program is opened by W, whose abstract digital music could be described as a modern day equivalent of musique concrète. W is followed by Aether Linna, who mixes ritualistic performance art and noise. After a short break the Friday evening continues with “yet untitled string drone orchestra”, a supergroup of string based musicians focusing on making a collective drone piece. Drones are followed by an exclusive meeting of guitarist Jukka Kääriäinen and drummer Simo Laihonen providing a blast of free jazz improvisation. Friday night is concluded with the aforementioned extravaganza of Pink Twins.

Sunday opens with the live cinema performance of Marek Pluciennik. After the internationally acclaimed folk avant-gardist Meriheini Luoto will bring up a new kinetic piece on stage, exploring motion sensor system with musical performance. Then we go on with multidisciplinary artist Kati Roover’s brand new sound pieces based on her video works. After a break and Ben Rivers’ cinematic trip Kuupuu sets onstage with layered dreamy loops and found sounds. We´ll finish the festival weekend with Antti Salminen & Ilpo Numminen, an unique collaboration of electro-acoustic improvisation and flow of live poetry and prose.

This year we will have exceptionally the festival dates as Friday and Sunday as there is the excellent Maunula Electronic event on Saturday that we don’t want to compete with. Check more about it here: (https://www.facebook.com/events/1226029310913517/). Accordingly the audience has a chance to spend the whole weekend full of great audiovisual experiences – without missing anything.

The festival is organized by the non-profit association Välirivi ry in collaboration with WHS Teatteri Union. Supported by Helsinki City Council and The Finnish Music Foundation.

Tickets
Fri 10e
Sun 10
Fri & Sun 15e

Friday 22.11.

19 Semiconductor (UK): 20Hz (2011, 5min, HD file), Black Rain (2009, 3min, HD file), Magnetic Movie, (2007, 5min, HD file), All the Time in the World, (2005, 5min, HD file) (total 18min)
19.20 W
19.50 Aether Linna
**break**
21 “yet untitled string drone orchestra”
21.30 Jukka Kääriäinen & Simo Laihonen
22 Pink Twins (live av)

Sunday 24.11.

18 Marek Pluciennik (live cinema performance)
18.30 Meriheini Luoto
19 Kati Roover
**break**
20.15 Ben Rivers (US): Slow Action (2010, 40min, DCP)
21.00 Kuupuu
21.30 Antti Salminen & Ilpo Numminen

WHS Teatteri Union: Siltavuorenranta 18

More info about the artists:
Semiconductor: https://semiconductorfilms.com/
Ben Rivers: http://www.benrivers.com/
Kuupuu: https://kuupuu.bandcamp.com/
W: https://soundcloud.com/susiovet
Meriheini Luoto: https://www.meriheiniluoto.com/
Aether Linna: https://soundcloud.com/nicolina-stylianou
Kati Roover: http://www.katiroover.com/
Marek Pluciennik: https://vimeo.com/marekpluciennik
Antti Salminen: https://poesia.fi/kirjailijat/antti-salminen/
Pink Twins: https://pinktwins.com/
Ilpo Numminen: https://paitapes.bandcamp.com/
Jukka Kääriäinen: http://www.jukkakaariainen.com/
Simo Laihonen: http://jazzfinland.fi/artisti/simo-laihonen